Ram Promaster Forum banner

1 - 20 of 318 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 2014 Promaster with the 3.6 Pentaster engine. I bought it new and have logged only 26,000 miles on it in the last three years. We use it mostly as a camper. On at least three separate trips, including just last week, we've had issues with the engine, each time after a heavy rain storm while traveling. Last week, after a heavy rain, we pulled into a campground and the engine began missing while we parked in our site. My code reader showed a "random missfire" code, and the "check engine" light was on. I opened the engine compartment and found small puddles of water in several areas at the top of the intake manifold. I closed the compartment and let the engine dry during the night. The next morning, I cleared the code and started the engine. The "check engine" light was off, and the engine ran perfectly. I drove about 600 miles back home without incident. Now I'm wondering whether water is draining properly from the recess area below the windshield during a rain storm. If it does not drain, the water could overflow into the engine compartment. I'm also wondering whether water can enter the air filter area during a rain storm. Each time I've had a "random missfire" problem, I've been in rain shortly before the missfire problem occurred. Has anyone else had this problem? I welcome any feedback. Komac

·
Registered
460 Posts
you gotta make sure you keep the drains cleared and seal the cowl to the windshield. we use 2" wide vinyl to seal it.
its not the prettiest but to the untrained eye its barely noticeable and with some patients a better job could be done. we no longer have water on the engine.

we also sealed the edges with 3m window weld cause this is the area where my AC likes to drain.

·
Premium Member
525 Posts
I was going to report this in a separate thread after I tested my proposed fix, but I'll post a note now: