Ram Promaster Forum banner

1 - 20 of 95 Posts

·
Registered
77 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings, fellow builders!

I am a newbie poster and starting a thread where I want to share my experience of converting my Promaster into a multi-function motorhome. I called it ultimate because I want to have there everything that a typical professional class B has (maybe more?), and plan to fit everything inside the compact 159WB van.

I spent many hours reading the forum where I found tons of useful information and I am very grateful to all people that took the effort to describe their work. I also hope that some ideas and solutions that I plan to post will be equally useful to readers.

I started the build earlier and currently I am at about midpoint, so initially, the posts would be lagging actual progress. I also started recently a building blog, which is structured by topics and has more details of the work. The blog address:

https://wtvanconversion.blogspot.com/

My wife and I decided to build a motor-home in early 2017. Almost a year we spent on researching the subject and shopping for a van, which we finally bought the end of December 2017.

The Winter and Spring went in planning and buying all major equipment (mostly Ebay, Amazon, Craigslist). After semester ended (I am teaching Electrical Engineering at a university) and we returned from the trip to China, I started the actual build on June 3, 2018.

The Goal

The conversion requirements:

Should be a fully self-contained comfortable motor home for two or four (occasionally) with:

• comfortable seating for four with dinette
  • permanent bed for two with make-up temp bed for other two people;
  • toilet-shower room
  • kitchen with sink and stove
  • reasonable size fridge with freezer
  • ample storage for clothes, travel stuff and activity items(skis, bicycles, ...)
  • air conditioner
  • air and water heater
  • capable for winter travel