Ram Promaster Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
174 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a new Promaster City with the UConnect 5.0 radio/backup camera and NO NAV. I am looking at upgrading to larger screen (The city has small screen).
The local radio folks (Car Toys) is looking at all the adapters etc it takes but they don't really have any idea what functions will be lost, if backup camera has to be replaced etc.
Some of the control functions of the car are done through UConnect, the camera controls, controlling auto on off of door locks, fuel mileage etc.

Are those things lost or compatible with an upgraded radio by Alpine, Pioneer etc?

UConnect folks are SUPER helpful on the phone, but not likely to help or encourage you to switch away from their UConnect system.

So where do you get good UConnect adviceon upgrading?

·
Registered
886 Posts
Forget out of date Nav. Use you phone nav. Always current navigation for free.

I'd go for a radio with Apple Car Play or Google's Car software before I'd accept UConnect's attempt at nav

·
Registered
174 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Forget out of date Nav. Use you phone nav. Always current navigation for free.

I'd go for a radio with Apple Car Play or Google's Car software before I'd accept UConnect's attempt at nav
I am looking at Apple Car Play in the Pioneer or other. Will cost about
$1300 with the adapters. Base unit is only $750 but installation and likely new camera etc.

I would just use my iPhone 6 plus for Nav, but the interface on Uconnect seems clunky and radio BAD! so might as well just get a nice all encompassing dash unit.

·
Super Moderator
8,962 Posts
I agree about the interface Ed, but my radio is surprisingly powerful! I probably like that part of it the most. FM, never even tried the AM:laugh:

I would go for the Apple Play in a second if I didn't already have the u connect!

·
Premium Member
8,714 Posts