Ram Promaster Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,
I'll be replacing my current work truck, 99 Dodge 1500 5.9 4WD. It has 220000k on it and it's tired. Not to mention I'm tired of crawling in and out of the back.
I'm a carpenter, interior trim and custom woodwork. I carry lots of tools, my Dodge has air bags holding up the rear. I also live in Colorado, driving at elevations up to 10k ft.
Here are my questions
Does it take 10 min to get from 0 to 60 in a loaded PM?
Anyone driven at elevation in one?
Will I be able to keep up with traffic on long grades?
Anyone found a cat back exhaust system yet? I'll take all the ponies I can get.
Why does it take forever for my post to show up?

Thanks

·
Super Moderator
727 Posts
Hi all,
I'll be replacing my current work truck, 99 Dodge 1500 5.9 4WD. It has 220000k on it and it's tired. Not to mention I'm tired of crawling in and out of the back.
I'm a carpenter, interior trim and custom woodwork. I carry lots of tools, my Dodge has air bags holding up the rear. I also live in Colorado, driving at elevations up to 10k ft.
Here are my questions
Why does it take forever for my post to show up?
Thanks
:laugh::laugh::laugh:

Love your post, but have no answers, sorry.

·
Registered
424 Posts
Heck no. It moves along quite fine. It probably has more power than your truck does, and a better transmission. One difference ... the Pentastar makes power with revs rather than torque. It will want to downshift and rev up to accelerate. Let it. It's normal.

Only as high as the Smoky Mountains in TN and NC.

Yes. Again, the transmission will want to downshift to let the engine rev up in order to make some power. Let it do that. It's fine. On interstates through TN and NC, mine never had to downshift to lower than 5th to get up the hill at highway cruise. A few much steeper grades on smaller roads wanted 4th.