Ram Promaster Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
100 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have really been liking my '14 Promaster I bought in Sept. And as an old mechanic, I have come to appreciate the benefits of synthetic lubes in vehicles. I've already bought Shell's Synthetic oil for the motor as my first 5k mile service is coming up shortly. Is it worth it to take care of the auto transmission the same way and drop the pan to wipe it out well and change it over to synthetic ATF? I retired as a Navy Nuc plant mechanic last century. I'm a big believer in preventive maintenance.

·
Premium Member
8,827 Posts
You will only get about 1/2 the fluid out of the transmission even opening the pan. I'd sooner change the fluid early with the same spec as the origional. Often may be better than different.

·
Registered
427 Posts
Use only fluid meeting Chrysler ATF +4 specifications in this transmission. It already is a synthetic.

I would get it changed more frequently than Chrysler says to, but changing it at 5,000 mi is probably a little excessive. I'm planning to do it at 60,000 km, which for me, is still a couple years away.

·
Registered
100 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I was thinking of doing it at the 5k mark as a break-in service. Any swarf and stuff settled in the pan gets cleaned out that way. You'd be amazed at the crap you find in the oil pans of newly broken in vehicles. This way they jump into their service lives with really clean systems.

·
Registered
763 Posts
I don't know first-hand how applicable this is to Chryslers automatic plumbing system...

IIRC the best way for a fluid change out on my F150 (or Z28?, been a while) automatic trans involved dropping the pan, swapping the filter - closing it back up and add fluid to full...