Ram Promaster Forum banner

1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Has anyone had strut problems? I have 2013 promaster 3500 with 70,000 miles work plumbing van. About couple months ago started hearing clunking noise in front passenger side when I backed up and turned the wheel, now I hear more often at slow speed when turning sharp. I also noticed hard to hold steering straight when driving pulls to right unless I get it to clunk the other way. I talked to my mechanic and he noticed two other vans with about same mileage except 2014 doing same thing. He ordered strut bearing parts. I will let you know how it goes. I think they should have lasted a lot longer but I am a plumber and see how things use to last 50 years and now lucky to get 10 years.

·
Registered
60 Posts
Mine 2015 1500 struts failed at 28000, ended up breaking one strut mount also, replaced both. Sade but that's Promaster for ya. I was just out of the 3 year warranty.

·
Registered
60 Posts
I contacted FCA about my struts going bad at 28000 miles (but past my 36 month warranty period). FCA said they might cover it. Called the my dealer and he quoted me 7 hours labor (4 hours job in book) plus $ 530 for 2 struts, but back ordered. It's my work truck so I could not wait, had my local mechanic do the job for 1/2 the price. FCA said they would not cover it because is was not done by a certified Ram mechanic. I just wanted them to reimburse me for the parts. Bad parts are bad parts, no matter who replaces them. From what I hear, I suspect most all the struts go bad.

·
Registered
11 Posts