Ram Promaster Forum banner

1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Registered
2019 Promaster 2500 136wb-ht
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

I've been browsing around on here and other places on the net for sometime and haven't been able to find information about anyone trying this.
The van is a 2019 136 wheelbase high top.

I have a bunch of very good quality oak flooring in greater than 10 foot lengths I'd like to use for my floor. I believe it's 2 1/2 inches wide or close to that.

I'm a finish carpenter by profession and have a decent skill-set and plenty of tools... but I am not a flooring installer, nor have I built out a van so I have some learning to do.
My intention is to keep the van pretty modular so I can use it for both work as well as weekend adventures.

Can anybody think of any potential issues I should keep in mind when doing this?

My general thoughts and plan:
  • 3/4" polyiso
  • a few nailing strips running perpendicular (short direction) to the flooring (flooring runs from front to back)
  • prime the bottom and all end grain to limit moisture absorption to minimize contraction and expansion of the floor
Questions I have:
  • How to secure nailing strips... what type of adhesive?
  • How to secure floor to the strips... proper flooring spikes with a nail gun, finish screws... maybe also an adhesive??
(I'd like to have hidden fasteners regardless how I approach this)
  • Can I simply replace the tie down bolts with longer ones to the surface of the new floor?
  • Should I use a sound deadening sticky mat on the floor before I even start? If so, should I avoid using it where I will put my nailing strips?
I hope to get started in the next couple weeks! I've been driving it around for the last few months and have really enjoyed it. My build will probably be pretty slow but I will definitely share the progress along the way. I appreciate the resources on this site :)

·
Registered
244 Posts