Ram Promaster Forum banner

Solar Trickle Charger for Vehicle Battery During Winter Storage

800 25
I have a 2020 Ram :promaster 2500 159" WB high roof stealth van. We live in Montana and have put the van in storage for a few months. I bought a 13-watt solar trickle charger and mounted in the windshield. The van is facing south so the panel will get lots of sun. I connected the solar panel to the Ram using the cigarette lighter adapter. The instructions for the trickle charger said that some vehicles don't accept a charge through the cigarette lighter when the ignition is turned off. How would I know if that's the case on my Ram?
P.S. The solar panel has a light that turns green when the solar panel is working and red when it's charging a battery. The light is green most of the time flashing briefly to red before returning to green. I'm interpreting this behavior to mean that the battery is nearly fully charged but is accepting a teeny bit of power every now and again.
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
2014-159 HR in CT
4,569 Posts
Welcome!!!

If your solar panel is on the dash, the easiest plan would be to make a hole in the clipboard (slide out the radio, then unscrew the clipboard to lift it). From there, route the wires straight down to the cupholder area where it's easy to get to the van battery cover to connect directly.

I recently got a Renogy mini-solar panel as a free gift (having purchased a bunch of Renogy stuff). Wondering about how to connect it... Not sure if I'm supposed to run it through a charge controller or just connect directly to the battery. It's only about 10W, so it seems like a direct connect would be OK.

Hoping others will respond...

·
Registered
2016 136 HT Gasser
439 Posts