Ram Promaster Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Anybody having problems opening side door? Took side door panel off; cable operated; are they adjustable? I have to give it 3-4 hard yanks to get it open.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I'm 4 hrs from a promaster dealer... Hoping to just fix this myself. I was a dodge mechanic for 11 years...think I'll just take it apart and see...thanks for replies. Maybe I can shim cable.

·
Registered
258 Posts
I put a little tension on my cable by tying it back with a plastic tie strap and it works.... better.... a shorter cable would probably do the trick.

·
Premium Member
1,061 Posts
At the bottom front ,take a close look at the little white plastic piece that the cable
goes through.
It has grooves in it. Put it to the next groove. (how do you spell groove?) Spaces in it.
Should be an easy fix hopefully:)

·
Registered
104 Posts
If you do end up taking apart your side door to try to fix it, please let us know how it goes. Seems like there are a few DIY fixes recommended, I'm just wondering which strategy is the best to go with.

Hopefully you can get it fixed and everything. best of luck.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
I think the cable with the grooves in it at at bottom front of the door is just for the catch that keeps the door open when it is fully open. The cable that goes to the rear catch doesn't have those grooves. Haven't had time to take latch off- just the inside panel. Maybe later tonite...

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
Cable has a bunch of slack in it at the latch. Only thing I can think to do is temporarily tie a knot in it.
Probably would make a weak point in it.
I'm gonna order a new cable.
Thinking latch has too much tension on it when door is closed causing too hard of a pull to open.
Adjusting latch might help.

·
Registered
104 Posts