Ram Promaster Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
171 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am planning my electrical system and one of my wants is to power my water heater and other appliances directly off of shore power, but also charge my batteries with shorepower. I am looking at buying a separate inverter and charger, but I was wondering if had to buy one of those all in one Inverter/Chargers to make it work.

I am looking at this Inverter: Samlex 1000 (https://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/ASIN/B00AYH6E6S/faroutride_parts_list-20/)
And this Charger: Sterline B2B 30A (https://www.amazon.com/Sterling-BB1...b366e4f4c5d7341c525faea19cd83e&language=en_US)

Can I accomplish what I want to do without buying one of those expensive all-in-one Victron Inverter/Chargers?

I'm an electrical newb, so go easy on me.

·
Premium Member
8,757 Posts

·
Registered
171 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Additionally you can get those RV Converter's with chargers setup for Lithium if you go crazy and decide to go that direction (like I did).
I am going the Lithium route. Do you have an RV Converter you'd recommend?

You can go another route and buy an RV converter. They have as much capacity as you want and have breakers for several circuits, 12 volt fuzes, proper grounding and a battery charger. It does a lot for it’s price and is easy to install for one without much experience.
Can this really replace the inverter AND the charger? Why doesn't everyone go this route, I've never heard of these until now. Is there a drawback to this thing? I'm going to dive down the research hole now, thank you for sharing this idea!

·
Premium Member
1,776 Posts
Hi,
You put in links to an inverter and to a battery to battery charger -- this will let you charge your house battery from the van battery, but it won't let you charge the house battery from shore power. Adding the Converter that RD mentioned would let you charge from shore power.