Ram Promaster Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I would like to have the video feed from the OEM backup camera display all the time on a rearview mirror monitor. If the connections from the camera are unplugged from the Uconnect and plugged into the rearview mirror monitor (with separate 12v power to the monitor), will it work? Is the OEM camera supplied with power when the ignition is on or only when the vehicle is in reverse? Will the vehicle's system "complain" that it cannot find the video feed in the Uconnect? [The vehicle is a Winnebago Travato 59K, so the rearview mirror shows just a tiny "slice" of what's directly behind the vehicle] Thanks.

·
Super Moderator
10,190 Posts
The camera is always powered when the ignition is on. If you can find the video in on the unconnect I would think you could rewire it to any always on powered monitor. I doubt if the computer would care but who knows? I'm no expert but if I were you I would try it. Or, do what proeddie is planning and just get another camera and connect it to your mirror monitor.

Ed, what do you think? ;)

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks! I have also considered another camera, but it would need to be a wireless connection because I cannot find a clean path to run a wire (the Winnebago modifications have closed off all the possible routes). I've read that the wireless arrangements are far from ideal, being subject to interference, etc. I may end up having to go that route.

·
Registered
174 Posts
I am sure one day people will get sick of me saying replace the UC5.0, today could be that day? I do know with aftermarket units you can control the on and off of the camera on most touchscreen aftermarket units. My Pioneer AVH-5700 has this function and it is great! When I tow my trailer full of stand up paddleboards, I usually turn on the camera for the first hour to make sure all the boards are secure.

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #5