Ram Promaster Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Super Moderator
427 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I started looking for a vehicle that I could haul my horsedrawn carriage in, that would pull a lightweight horse trailer and horse and be flexible enough to be fixed up to sleep in while off on an adventure or Combined Driving Event.

My dog travels with me and my farm has some extremely steep hills to negotiate.

I have been eyeing the Sprinters for several years and started off shopping those but was put off by scary comments about reliability and dealer networks. The Ford Transit is also appealing but not here.

I liked the promaster because the front wheel drive can pull my steep hills. Ram dealers are everywhere. My trusted mechanic won't work on diesels. Plus, the benefit, pricewise, to diesel is not there these days.

So eve though all the promotional material would have you believe that this is a work truck for rugged muddy men, I bought a promaster 1500 high roof with all the trimmings. I got the wide passenger seat for the comfort of my dog. Given the footspace for the center seat, I can't imagine it would be very comfortable for a human. But the border collie can stretch out on it.

I had never used a backup camera before. This is a eye opener. I wouldn't have one of these vans without it.

I had it home for one day. Judging from the neighbors, they see great potential as a camper. Everyone loves that you can stand straight up in it.

·
Registered
110 Posts
I have never met anyone who owns a horse drawn carriage. is that you in the picture that you posted? I have to say that the Promaster should be good at performing the tasks that you were talking about. I imagine that you have a pretty nice property to have horses and the need for a Promaster. Where are you located? Welcome to the forum!

·
Super Moderator
427 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)

Above is a link to a youtube of the sport. Makes dirt bike racing look tame.