Ram Promaster Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone,

I have a 2016 ram promaster city cargo.

The keyless entry fob is not functioning even with a new battery.

The dealer ran a "wave test" and said I need a new one.

Price at the dealer is $165 plus $125 programming fee.

I see on the web that mopar pn : 68334510-AA runs about $ 50 less on the internet, but maybe that's with a blank key that needs to be cut.

I have no idea how the cutting process works.

Google search implies that only a shop with a "wtech" system (FCA dealers) can program it.

The dealer is being noncommittal about replacing it under warranty. They want the tech to go through it all before assessing.

So just seeking opinions before paying $300 for a new fob.

Thanks,
John

·
Registered
52 Posts
Look inside and out of your warranty...if you paid for this, they have no choice...
From Mopar Vehicle Protection FAQ:

Q. What is the $600 Key Fob Repair/Replacement Coverage?

A. Both the Maximum Care℠ and Added Care Plus℠ plans provide coverage for up to three key fob repairs or replacements - with a total key fob coverage benefit of $600 for the covered vehicle. Key fob coverage is available even if the key fob is lost or stolen. And, this coverage is not subject to the deductible that applies to repair visits for covered components.

Dealers are dicks...but if it ain't covered, it ain't covered. Good luck!

·
Super Moderator
10,853 Posts
I don't know about FCA but most new keys like this can be duplicated by good locksmiths for a lot less. Do your homework and you might be surprised. Especially check online locksmiths as they are your best bet.

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
2016 ram promaster city cargo remote keyless fob replacement

From the DVD for the Limited Warranty (I bought no extra warranty)

B. What’s Covered
The Basic Limited Warranty covers the cost of all parts and