Ram Promaster Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
RE: Flettner TCX-2 install

Hi,

I would like to install a Flettner TCX-2 in my 2014 Dodge promaster 1500 136WB. Does anyone have any experience doing this? I contacted a local company that sells the Flettner and they told me that because the ridges on the roof are too close together that I would have to use a hydraulic punch to flatten the roof when making the hole. I have a hydraulic punch set from Greenlee that I use for work as I am an electrician. Just wondering if this would work or can anyone recommend the right tool to create this hole while flattening the roof.

Thanks

·
Registered
91 Posts
The last shot on that video is a Ducato. The hole, 75mm, is 3". I can't get to the roof of my van right now, but it seems you should be able to find a flat spot 3" wide. Maybe not.

·
Registered
2014 Ram Promaster 2500 159" diesel
1,436 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
The TCX-2 model requires a 5.75 inch flat spot on the roof as the base has to cover around the hole. They also make an narrower model that only requires a 4.25inch flat spot. I can't remember the exact measurements I got when I measured as I don't have that paper in front of me and I'm not currently near my van. However I recall it being much smaller than this. The area I am referring to is up towards the front of the vehicle where people would commonly install a Maxx air fan. As in this location the ribs of the roof are not as high.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #8