Ram Promaster Forum banner

1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm at 1 hour of trying to replace the headlight bulb because it will not slide back into the guide. Last week the other headlight bulb failed and a toyota mechanic happened to pull up next to me at walmart, and he gave it a try. He finally got it in after 20 minutes, but it is not seated properly, and I'll have to take it back out.

It is small headaches like this that can be very costly to my business.

My previous 3 Sprinter vans took two minutes to replace a headlight bulb.

There are other issues I have that, like this one, are poor design, and should have been corrected before these vans were released in the U.S.

As a small business owner, I expect a supplier to provide a product that doesn't waste my time or money.

·
Premium Member
1,061 Posts
Any problems with the 3 Sprinters? Why did you buy a ProMaster?

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I'm still trying to get the driver side low beam bulb harness to seat properly back in the headlight assembly after three tries on three occasions. Here are the problems:

1. Page 355 of the owner manual says"rotate the bulb counterclockwise" to remove. This is incorrect. You push down on a release button on the top of the bulb harness to release the bulb.

2.There is no way to see inside the back of the headlight assembly so you can only feel around with your hand.

3. To reinstall the bulb harness after replacing the bulb, it has to slide in on the guide rails exactly the right way, and snap lock in place. For me, it snapped in place but did not seat properly on the headlight assembly, and was misaligned. As a result, the low beam was projecting higher than the passenger side low beam.

A simple task engineered to be a dang mess.

By the way, the upper marker lights in the headlight assembly can be changed in one minute with a simple counterclockwise turn.

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter #5