Ram Promaster Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
174 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
We have the base radio, no nav, in our city.
Was going to upgrade to Apple CarPlay system using Pioneer or other
radio system. At the time there where not the adapters needed to make the various systems work, UConnect, dash etc.and the proper dash trim plates and adapters for the Promaster City.
Anyone know what is available now? Sources?

·
Registered
36 Posts
Ok, i have a question here. I am going to install a pioneer avh-x1700s. Will I need a different wire harness than what came with the stereo? I don't have Bluetooth or steering wheel controls. Looks like my Sirius , rear camera, and usb will all hook up to the existing ports. Am I good to go? Also, do I need to hook up the parking break wire? What is that for?

·
Registered
167 Posts
Before I got my ProMaster, I found my smart-phone give me everything what I need.
I do listen to a music on an ears-plugs-phones. I can take any where my phone with me...
So I did not order a radio for PM. It is great option and got some -$$ credit to a price.
Instead of radio it comes with 2 pockets on a dash.

·
Registered
75 Posts
The parking brake wire is for the video. In most places, it's illegal to watch video while you drive, so the stereo will come with a wire to be hooked to the parking brake. When you engage the brake, the radio assumes you aren't driving, and will let you watch a video. There's a bypass out there if you google it. Or you can hook it up as it's meant to be. I don't know what happens if you never hook it up. I assume you just won't be able to watch a DVD.

·
Registered
211 Posts
You guys do know you're on the promaster CITY forum?

Ram Promaster Forum > Ram Promaster General Discussion > Ram ProMaster City Forum > Radio Upgrades

·
Registered
211 Posts
Does it matter when taking about radios?