Ram Promaster Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All,

I've been debating which way to go with a rack for my 2017 promaster camper conversion. My heart is leaning toward having Aluminess building one for me. My wallet kind of likes the idea of doing something simpler and more cost effective likely from Rhino racks. I need something to mount two solar panels on and I want something that will give me some space to carry a bit of stuff. I also think the ability to go up top for a photography platform or sunset viewing would be really cool too!

So my question is for those who bit the bullet and had Aluminess build you a rack
- Any regrets? Would you do it again, and if so, what would you do different? Got to make up my mind quickly and get something on order. I've got spring fever.

THANKS!!

·
Registered
188 Posts
Hi David -- I'm extremely happy with the rack fabricated for my 159" EXT by Main Made Studios in Florida. As soon as this darn Michigan winter breaks, I'll get back to work on it and do some more photos and a more detailed review of this rack.

Great quality, nice welds, fantastic communication -- the owner, also "David" is very good at his craft.

http://www.mainmadestudios.com/american-portraiture/

·
Registered
98 Posts
The Adventure in a Backpack duo used an Aluminess rack. They had issues, and it caused them to have to mount solar panels not the way they had planned, so they couldn't tilt them the way they had envisioned. It seemed like they were trying to work something out with Aluminess, but it wasn't good, it was a bad mistake or miscommunication-though he put it squarely on the maker. Having said that, there was a FB post by Aluminess October 27 that featured their van, video below is from Oct 15, maybe all is good...he talks about the rack at about 15:20 in. I'm sure they have lots of happy customers, but unfortunately bad stories stick, you can likely find out somehow what the upshot was.