Ram Promaster Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Premium Member
8,845 Posts
That tank should work but is to be mounted outside the living space of the RV and protected. Outside often means inside a sealed compartment that is vented to the atmosphere.

You say “in” like inside? I would’t think of having one inside the van.

·
Registered
83 Posts
There are a few builds out there that have a propane tank in the van in a sealed container. I think Gary does as well as a few others if done right I don't see the problem.

·
Registered
136 Posts
I'm no expert but there's 100's of van dweller videos with a propane tank inside their van and they've been doing it for many years including those living full time in their van. I think if connected correctly and turned off when not in use along with a proper detector installed in the van I don't see a problem. Mine will be inside.

·
Premium Member
8,845 Posts
Just so you know the rules for your insurance and liability:

From ANSI A119.2 / NFPA 1192 (1999 edition)
2-2.3 Location of LP-Gas Containers. LP-Gas containers shall be in accordance with the following:
(a) LP-Gas container shall not be installed nor shall provisions be made for installing or storing any LP-Gas containers, even temporarily, inside any recreation vehicle. Containers shall not be mounted on the exterior of the rear wall or rear bumper of the vehicle.
Exception: New LP-Gas cylinders that have never contained LP-Gas, supplied as original equipment, shall be permitted to be transported inside the vehicle.