Ram Promaster Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
As I digestive the masive volume of material I have viewed in the last month in order to plan a well thought out future van conversion, I can't help but think about the problem of maintaining a comfortable temperature. I cannot imagine that I will have access to shore power all that often so the question is, how do I go about climate control. I will leave A/C alone for now, and focus on heat.
So the question I have for the forum is very basic. I am a newbie to cargo vans and conversions. If mounting a horizontal tank is way too much trouble, and storing a 20lb cylinder inside is dangerous, why is storing 20, 1lb Coleman cylinders, in the van acceptable...or maybe its not. It seems like the only
option. I rather not use a heater, like Mr Buddy, that will release water vapor into the van. I did read that Webasto makes a gasoline version of its heater, but its seems a little cumbersome to install. That leaves the Propex system and the propane issue.
Might not be reality, but I do picture myself parked at a ski resort in the spring. I need to be able to stay warm!

·
Registered
2014 136” HR
5,821 Posts
I doubt the Webasto is any harder to install than propane, particularly if you plan for it at the beginning. The hardest part is deciding on a location compatible with your build, but with no obstruction underneath. There are several options.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I never heard the name Webasto until I read your thorough thread on the subject MsNomer. I don't recall if you have a diesel Promaster. And honestly I have read so many threads on so many subjects and until I reread for a 2nd and 3rd time am still confused. Don't recall if its the diesel Sprinter or Promaster that has the easy connection to the fuel line.