Ram Promaster Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 2014 Promaster Winnebago Travato with 3, 250 miles on it. I was taking it into the dealer to have the P32 & P62 recalls done. I merged onto the freeway when the transmission decided to downshift into either 2nd or 3rd gear making it to over rev like it was in limp mode. I let up on the gas pedal and the rpm’s dropped. I then gently gave it gas and it was over revving again. I tried to manually upshift but the indicator on the dash still had the “D”. Here I am doing 60mph at 6,000 rpm. No check engine lite on the dash either. After looking at it the dealer said it was the speed sensor. That was replaced and the problem is still there. They contacted STAR and the dealer was told to do some other tests. STAR now wants serial number and wants the dealer to pull the transmission and take pictures so STAR can determine whether to replace or rebuild the transmission. The problem now is that although the dealer has the lift designed for the Promaster, it is unable to support the Travato because of the added weight from the cabinets, generator, etc. that Winnebago has installed. The dealer is now trying to figure out what to do.
Thought I would let other Travato owners know what is happening with mine.
Has anyone else have this over revving issue?

·
Registered
24 Posts
HUGE over-revving issue coming down hills.

HUGE, as in the first time it happened it scared the **** out of me. I thought the motor was going to blow and there was nothing I could do fast enough to get it to stop.

My scenario is slightly different though. I was driving though the Oregon Coast Range on my way to the coast for New Years. Coasting down very long hills about 60-65, the thing downshifts TWICE!!! I'm not touching the brakes or the gas, and all of a sudden the thing is reving to the MOON...