Ram Promaster Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I haul for a living with my diesel 3500 PM and have about 130K miles on it. The power loss typically happens after I get back on the highway after a 5-10 minute stop. I try to bring it up to speed on the entrance ramp but can't even reach 50 mph. If I need to commit to getting on the highway at this point I drive with the flashers on at 45-50 mph with the peddle to the floor. Even lower speed if it's up hill. In about five minutes it's back to normal. There's no dash indicators telling me there's an issue. Prior to the stop I'm traveling at 70 mph with a normal amount of throttle. This will happen several times in a day or two then its good for a month plus. I had a dealer pull the codes soon after a string of the events and there wasn't a clue. I've spoken with several service managers and none have heard of the issue. I test for acceleration prior to getting on the highway now and will pull over before mixing with the traffic. Just idling for a while will make it normal again.

·
Premium Member
8,830 Posts
Interesting symptoms. It seems to be acting like low/no turbo boost perhaps, but that has a code. Plugged exhaust would do it but throw a code too. Injectors not opening is the only other thing I can think of that might not give a CEL. Doing that would be signaled by the Engine Management Computer and be a limp home sort of action. With no spark the diesel has to go if it gets fuel and air. How it can cure itself in 5 minutes is a real mystery. You are the first with this symptom and no codes BTW.
Try disconnecting the ground side of the battery for 1/2 hour or so to reset/restart the computers. The dealer did confirm you had the most recent computer flash/update right?

·
Registered
2014 Ram Promaster 2500 159" diesel
1,480 Posts