Ram Promaster Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
808 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I found somebody selling sheets of 3/4" cabinet grade A birch maple plywood for $35.00 a sheet on Craigslist. I'm a newbie woodworker, so I could use some advice.

So far I'm mostly prototyping with softwood plywood and such, and I'd originally planned to travel 300 miles round trip to Tampa to get some Baltic birch plywood for $45 a
1/2" sheet or $69 a 3/4" sheet.

I don't know much about birch maple plywood, but this seems like a deal to me. The seller has more than I need, but has a 4 sheet minimum. It looks like it may have been sitting a while. Any idea of how this plywood would compare to the Baltic birch that most people recommend? I've read that there's both soft and hard maple and that hard maple was harder than Birch.

I was originally planning on using mostly 1/2" plywood for weight and thickness savings, but at this price for 3/4" I'm thinking it would be better and more forgiving for a newbie like me. Is there anything I should look for in selecting these sheets? Thanks.

·
Registered
36 Posts