Ram Promaster Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is my first attempt at rigging up a van electrical system. I'm running two 100W solar panels to a CTEK D250SA/Smartpass system. I have the 180AMP alternator and 95AMP starter battery. Via solar and alternator I'll be charging a 200AH MightyMax SLA AGM battery (monitored with the CTEK Battery Sense) to power a variety of DC loads (with room for expansion, extra lights, charging station, etc) and 1500W Vertamax PSW inverter. This system is modeled similarly to Hein's transit rig and hopefully he can chime in here.

Wiring diagram attached as pdf.

Thanks in advance!

Attachments

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
You have, of course, omitted the ability to charge from 'shore power'. Even if you're not planning extensive use of shore power, we question whether this omission might be a mistake in the long run.
Hi Winston, thank you for the feedback. I may add shore power to the system in the future, however, most of my camping destinations do not have hook ups.

I am mostly curious if my choice of fuses, breakers, and wire gauges are appropriate for the components I've selected. For instance, in the D250SA/Smartpass manual it is suggested to have a 300AMP fuse between the Smartpass and battery. However, the max charging rate of the CTEK system is 140AMPS. That will be running just less than a foot from the CTEK system to a positive bus on a 2AWG wire- which according to the Blue Sea Systems charts requires about a 130AMP fuse. Also, I have a 150AMP fuse next protecting a short 2AWG wire from the AGM battery... but on that same wire I put a 100AMP circuit breaker as additional protection that doubles as a switch to cut off power to/from that battery for servicing etc. Could I get away with just a single 150AMP circuit breaker next to the battery?