Ram Promaster Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey folks, I've got some insurance woes that I'm at my wits end with. Feel free to skip if you don't want to hear my sob story. Questions to help are at the bottom.

I've read threads here and elsewhere and I'm not sure if it's my state or what, but I am not having as easy of a time as others have had with insuring their Promaster campervans.

Let me start with what I have currently -- I have a 2018 Promaster Commercial policy through an insurance agency with Progressive being the owner of the policy. I pay a whopping $3000+ a year for this policy. Originally when I signed up for it the policy was for $2200 for a 2017 which I wasn't happy about but then I purchased the vehicle and it was a 2018 and then they bumped it to $3K or so due to the year change.

When signing up for that policy I informed them that I was outfitting it to be a campervan and they said "okay*we'll need to go with a commercial policy, let's see how we can do this". They asked what I do for work and I told them I'm a software engineer and I will be sometimes using the vehicle for working in, which they took as their way to have be a commercial policy.

I know I am being ripped off on this policy and the worst thing is that I don't believe I will be covered if I get in an accident. I have called progressive independently of this insurance agency I have my policy with and they told me they will not insure Promaster cargo vans that are converted in the state of Pennsylvania. This makes me thing that regards of my policy being commercial that they will deny any claim I make if I do need to in the future.