Ram Promaster Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
569 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I work out of state, and unlike many that use their vehicles for travel, or use the vehicles for work, mine will be a place to stay while I am working. It is essentially a replacement for a 1989 Dodge Explorer Class B (which will be sold later this summer). I may use it occasionally to transport a few people or tailgate with a friend, so I want to have seating for 4. It will be my only vehicle in my work location (in the Northeast). I have been using the 1989 for 5 years while I work (mostly in the southeast where the climate was different). I typically fly in to work during the week and fly home on the weekend, only occasionally staying for the weekend. It saves me from having to rent a hotel or apartment (at least 700-800 a month), plus it also serves vehicle duty (avoiding at least insurance if not a payment on a vehicle or renting car every week)

The vehicle is a 2018 Promaster 3500 Extended, with cruise control and power folding heated mirrors and not much else other than a factory plastic floor.

A few design choices have been made based on my 5 years of living in an RV during the week.
1. I don't want propane, a second fuel seems to be a hassle (at least to me in my lifestyle)
2. I want a shower and toilet, I don't use campgrounds often, I just park and stay in parking lots, but prefer a port a potty over having a black tank, I removed the toilet and black tank in my 1989 and preferred it that way
3. I don't often cook in the vehicle, but want the option for a minimal meal (microwave with a hot plate)
4. Going with a lithium battery system (already purchases 600 AH, Victron Multiplus inverter, B2B charger, Victron 100/50 solar charge controller)
5. Ordered a Smartbed Evolution R for my second row seating / secondary bed
6. Decided on a Webasto 2000 STC gasoline heater after considering many options, ordered yesterday