Ram Promaster Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is my first year owning a diesel vehicle (2016 Promaster) and I need to leave parked for six weeks this winter in upstate New York. I am a little uncertain about the steps I should take ensure that it will start after sitting in the cold. Any advice?

Additional Info; I can have someone start the vehicle once a week (or more if super cold), I will be leaving it between December and late January, Winter temperatures vary widely, but are usually between 20F and 32F with cold snaps well below zero possible.

·
Super Moderator
10,225 Posts
The most you would have to worry about is a low/dead battery. Make sure you fuel tank is full and forget it. You could always leave a trickle charger on it if you are afraid of a dead battery.

·
Premium Member
8,814 Posts
+++ on the battery maintainer- it’s a MUST. These vehicles all have a small phantom battery draw.

YELLING HERE, no offense just emphasis- DO NOT HAVE IT STARTED UNLESS IT IS DRIVEN FOR ABOUT A HALF HOUR+! DAMHIK!

·
Registered
50 Posts
wow ...not what i would do.

I wouldnt run it at all until the time you need it. Im in NYS and have run diesel engines. I suggest you go to local store like advanced auto or walmart and pick up a white bottle called power service. do NOT pick the gray one. you want the white bottle. the white bottle is for winterizing your diesel fuel. This helps to keep the fuel from gelling when the temps drop. just read the instructions and pour the amount needed in your tank. diesels likes to be run, they hate to be run for short time so when its time to use , put it to work. dont start up in middle of winter just because you wont be home for awhile. leave it alone. I would not put a battery tender on it, i would install a cutoff or just disconnect the positive side from battery. if you pull the cable, leave the floor off so you know its a reminder to hook back up so no senior moment later.