Ram Promaster Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Oil puddling on top of tranny; think it might be an intake gasket? Anyone else have this on a 3.9 gas engine?

·
Registered
25 Posts
I have a 2014 2500 Promaster. It now has 22,000 miles. I've changed oil in it since new and began using full synthetic 5W/20 in it at 5000 miles. I had an oil leak, beginning approximately 500 miles after the last oil change. I was about 600 miles from home. The only way I discovered it was that the check engine light came on, and I was able to pull over perhaps 20 miles later. I checked the oil and found almost nothing on the dip stick! I checked the engine compartment and saw no leaks at the oil filter, but did find oil puddling on top of what appears to be the transmission case on the right side of the engine. I called the nearest Ram dealership, about 60 miles from me, and was told by the service manager that "we do work on the Promaster, but we don't do warranty work." I was directed to a dealership in Tallahassee, Florida and was told that they could possibly get to me in about a week. I put two quarts of 10W/30 in the engine, oil that I bought from a passing motorist, and decided to limp home by buying extra oil and checking every so many miles. I bought 3 gallons of 5W/20 synthetic at a Walmart and drove all night home. When I got home, I had used almost all three gallons. I took it to my local dealership the next morning and was told they would get to it as soon as possible. They called me the next afternoon. Their technician said the oil leak was from the oil filter! I said that's not possible, I saw no leak from there, but he explained that it ran out of the bottom and then underneath the engine, coming out on the right side where I could see it. He said I put the "O" ring in wrong when I changed the filter. At first, I could not believe him. However, he was right!. I must have made the serious mistake of not putting the "O" ring prop