Ram Promaster Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Bought my van 3 weeks ago. Haven’t driven a whole lot yet but so far so good til yesterday. I noticed oil stains on the driveway. Oh god! Tried to get under but very difficult. Got my head stuck. Don’t laugh. I could see a big fat drop of oil getting ready to fall but that was the last one I guess. I don’t know if it rolled to where it was hanging from or that was the originating spot. I think not..it was some type of plastic housing. But there was evidence of oil in other places. Pretty close to the front there’s a black piece of plastic about 2 inches wide running parallel with the front grill and I guess it was about 2 feet long. Oil was all over that. Not dripping, I could just see the evidence of it and wipe it off with my fingers. Obviously I’m no mechanic. I don’t know what I was looking at under there, like I said it was very difficult. With the van being so new to me I didn’t trust jacking it up and getting under there. The dealer I bought it from is over an hour away from me. I made an appointment with my local certified Promaster service center. Can’t get in till next Wednesday. It’s just odd that I didn’t see any oil on the driveway in the three weeks that I’ve had it. Plus I went out today and drove around for half an hour and came home - no drops, no drips. Yesterday when I noticed it, I had been working in the van and had the engine running for about 15 minutes just to get it warm. It was parked on a slight backward incline in my driveway. I know this is way out there but since this is a forum I thought I’d post it and see if anybody’s had anything similar happen to them or have any ideas. The only thing I can think of is that when the dealer had the oil changed before the sale, they spilled oil and the van being on an incline with the engine running maybe it started running out of places it had been sitting since the oil change?? Hope my thoughts aren’t just w