Ram Promaster Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Picked up this New Promaster Yesterday, I'm a plumbing contractor and hoping I can get a lot of life out of this new Promaster. I love the space and lower entry point into the cargo area. I'm hoping the 3.0L Ecodiesel proves to be a good engine, some of the commits here make me nervous about the issues happening under 1000 miles.....

Attachments

·
Registered
73 Posts
Congratulations. Don"t be nervous, there are way more diesel pms without issues than the few with issues that you read about here. A friend of mine is approaching 30k on his with 0 issues.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I figured there had to be some out there with good results. I have a freind with a Ram 1500 Ecodiesel(I know its a v6 and different) but his is doing great at close to 30,000 miles. I'm has been great so far for 113 miles lol.

Not a Power Wagon in garage(wish I had one), but a 1992 Ram D150 with a 318 mag.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Getting a little concerned, I have 300 miles on the van now. So far the malfunctioning indicator light(MIL) keeps coming on. Maybe I got poor fuel from the dealer? But this morning the electronic throttle control indicator light (ETC) came on. I sure hope I don't get a lemon.....

Thoughts? I let my van idol this morning, are the modern-day diesel are not supposed idol?

·
Super Moderator
9,107 Posts
Modern day automotive diesels are not supposed to idle. idling causes lots of emissions problems. If you don't want to shut it down you need to fast idle it. I'm not sure if the Promaster diesel has a fast idling option but I know the Sprinter does for sure. You should look into it.

·
Registered
444 Posts
The mil comes on, then off? What's the code? Have you taken it to the dealer? Don't waste time, the lemon law for my state is 30 working days in the shop.

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #11