Ram Promaster Forum banner

1 - 20 of 47 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 159 inch ProMaster dark grey. I want to get a rooftop ac but I want to get the right size. I race dirt bikes so the van is for hauling bikes and sleeping. I would like to get the Coleman Mach 10 15000 btu. But I have been reading a ton. Is this too much will it cycle too much?

·
Registered
3,533 Posts
So,
Insulation?
Are you mainly in Alaska or Death Valley or Houston in the summer?

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Mainly Oklahoma and texas, I am looking into the wool insulation. But would like to wire it up and install the ac first.

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I camp in full sun more often then not going to probably wrap the roof in white.

·
Registered
3,533 Posts
FYI, RNR and WanderingWakes just coated their roofs.

Someone is going to ask, batteries or batteries and plug in or just plug in, just throwing it out there because in no time we'll being talking about B2Bs and Lithium and tires :)

·
Registered
54 Posts
I've used a 13.5K BTU unit in both of my 3500 Ext builds. Both mounted near the back of the roof. The first build was not insulated very well so it would keep the back of the van cool enough, but the front was warm. It stayed on all the time in 90+ degree heat. My new build is very well insulated (spray foam) and the AC does much better though I haven't had much chance to test it. For a 3500 Ext, if you insulate well and mount the unit towards the middle, you're probably ok with 13.5K.

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
FYI, RNR and Wanderwakes just coated their roofs.

Someone is going to ask, batteries or batteries and plug in or just plug in, just throwing it out there because in no time we'll being talking about B2Bs and Lithium and tires :)
It will be either my Honda eu 3000i or shore power, no battery bank or solar.

·
Registered
242 Posts