Ram Promaster Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm currently using a Whistler 1200W inverter. Works fine for small appliances. I'm no electrician, so I've been researching online, but I'm getting mixed information concerning the safety of using a modified sine wave inverter for rechargeable items, like laptops, phones, etc. Some say it will damage or shorten battery life, some say it's fine. But to be safe I've been told a pure sine wave inverter is required.

Has anyone found this to be the case?

·
Registered
2014-159 HR in CT
3,748 Posts
Some electronics devices are fussy, like a microwave.

My microwave is happy with the Harbor Freight 2000W (not pure sine wave) inverter and 2 100Ah batteries. OTOH, I tried an induction cooktop and the display kept showing error messages.

For charging, using a wall wart or power supply to convert 120VAC to a DC voltage for the laptop shouldn't matter.

Better scenario, use a 12V USB charging device for your phone... you know the ones that plug in the cigarette lighter socket. Your laptop may have an optional 12V adapter/charger, so an inverter wouldn't be needed.

ed

·
Premium Member
8,845 Posts
Good advice Ed,
For all our battery chargers, phones, iPad and even my Bluetooth keyboard I use USB outlets I installed in the van.
By using the butane cooktop and not having any desire for a microwave I have only used my inverter a couple times.

·
Registered
99 Posts
Laptops are charged with DC current. The stock power supplies use a transformer to convert 120v to DC. It's a waste of energy to go from the 12V DC your battery puts out, invert it with a sine wave inverter to AC and then back again to DC. I use a direct DC charger that plugs into the laptop, if I remember correctly I bought it on Amazon for under $10 and it has worked well for over 2 years now.

·
Registered
446 Posts