Ram Promaster Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Premium Member
645 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've learned a lot about batteries and electrical systems. I do have a question regarding battery disconnects? Is there such a product that can disconnect a battery automatically at a specific voltage or SOC? I'm looking at LIFEPO4 lithium battery and want to cut off the battery at 80%, but I'm not sure how I could go about doing that? It would be for both 12v loads and to the inverter. Sorry if this is a newbie question.

·
Registered
1,074 Posts
I'm a complete noob but the charger-inverter will often have the
ability to 'look' at the battery bank and shut down at a voltage you
select/determine preventing dropping the voltage below a certain point
and prolonging the life of your batteries---but I thought a much less
concern with lithiums.
Also some appliances also have this ability. The ARB frigerator if you wish
can also look for battery depletion and cut off saving you from having to
walk.
The pros here will chime in soon enough.
I was just googling at what voltage I'd need to preven below 50% discharge
of my AGMs.

·
Registered
79 Posts
I'm using an InPower LVD20. Here's the info:

http://www.inpowerdirect.com/lowvoltagedisconnects.php
http://www.inpowerdirect.com/docs/PDS-124A.pdf

It is totally self contained and very simple. Loads that you want to disconnect under low voltage conditions are feed through the LVD20. If the voltage drops below 11.5 volts for longer than 60 seconds the load is disconnected. To reconnect the voltage must be greater than 11.5 volts and the control pin is cycled off and then on.

The folks at InPower are also very helpful if you contact them.

Lex

·
Registered
627 Posts
Is there such a product that can disconnect a battery automatically at a specific voltage or SOC? I'm looking at LIFEPO4 lithium battery and want to cut off the battery at 80%
Matt,