Ram Promaster Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 2017 2500 159 Promaster and my passenger side sliding door is not working. I am out of warranty and figure the dealership is going to overcharge me to fix the problem. One day the sliding door simply stopped opening without any sign of degration or issue that I can remember. I believe I can hear the locking mechanism activate when I hit the unlock button; however the door doesn't open from either the inside or outside handle. I started looking to see if I could manually open the door through any of the pull cables attached to the handle, but it didn't immediately work so I decided I should seek higher wisdom.

I checked and the door lock fuse is good and the other door locks work properly.

Any thoughts on how to tackle this problem or narrow down the problem?

·
Registered
691 Posts
My Slider will get glued shut by maple tree or fig blossum sap - pull handle twice to clear lock lockout safety and tug and nothing happens except the gaskets yield a couple of millimeters... In my case its a continued gentle push from inside, then quit pushing when the sound effects of gaskets ripping free stop. Yeah, water wash gaskets and apply thin silicone coating cures it until next time...

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Thanks all for the initial help. My problem persists and as keeponvaning stated:

Keep in mind even if you can hear the electrical function of the lock working that doesn’t mean the mechanical function is working. The cables alone are enough to drive you nuts !