Ram Promaster Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
since agm batteries need to be charged differently, can an isolator such as pac-200 (see itsolar) be used to charge the agm or is some sort of converter needed ? already ruined one agm battery with a cheap solar controller that did not have an agm setting

·
Registered
2014-159 HR in CT
3,529 Posts
After researching AGM batteries a lot, I decided on a AGM made to be a high powered drop-in replacement for a large car's battery (ie. big mercedes). My logic is that if it is designed to be put in a car as the only battery, it will get along just fine with the isolator charging method. It is rated at 95AH.

I have a feeling that it is not as capable a storage unit as a "pure" AGM battery, but I can live with that if it charges well off the isolator!

It has a 3 year replacement warranty so I'm covered if there are issues.

Ed

·
Registered
157 Posts
I'm no expert but if your paying that kind of money for a battery I'd use what is recommended. If is it not deep cycle but still AGM it may be fine using the alternator to charge.
For any that are deep cycle, you should use a controller or charger made for AGM and letting the alternator charge it as float should be fine unless you are driving 10-15 hours a day.

Isolator only opens it up from another circuit and doesn't control the rate of charge, you need controller (for solar charge) a charge converter (shore power) or use the vehicle alternator which has only a voltage regulator and keeps it at a steady voltage, say 14.2

The other devices change the voltage depending on what you set it for. For instance 14.8 for two hours bulk charge, 14.2 for several hours absorption and then maybe 13.2 for float charge. These are not actual numbers they are different for battery type and brand. The manufacturer should have specs online.