Ram Promaster Forum banner

1 - 20 of 127 Posts

·
Premium Member
84 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm not here to tout or sell a product..... Yet ;)

I've been in the trades for 30 years and have torn apart many types of insulation and in thousands of buildings. I'm NOT an expert in insulation.

Since I will be starting my build soon I thought I would share journey as to how I'm going to insulate my build.

A good place to start....

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/R-value_(insulation)

I've looked into spray foam and it's a wonderful product for many things but I don't think in my van that it's the best for me. I just don't know how it will hold up to the twisting of the chassis.

I'm going to put this one the floor

FOAMULAR® Insulation (this is the pink Owens Corning boards)

All Foamular XPS products are R-5 per inch of thickness except High-R CW Plus that is R-10 at 1-3/4", and R-12 at 2 1/8 " thick.

I will be 1" or less in thickness since I'm building on a 136" low roof.

Todd

·
Super Moderator
9,053 Posts
That's the same stuff I used on my walls (2") for the same reasons!

·
Premium Member
8,719 Posts
Just keep it dry which should not be a problem as it does absorb water. It also will let vapor out so it can dry but slowly. It's good for 25 psi support which is a lot so you can walk on it. When installing it don't get down on your knees as you can deform it since your knee is rounded and your weight may exceed the 25 psi. It glues well and if held in place is quiet, If not it squeaks as it is moved around which may not be a problem when you put on the brakes. Ha Ha! I'd think an inch R-5 plus plywood R-.75(?) should be enough. If you want to go lower try Dow Formular Tuff R. R-6+ per inch so 1/2 inch foil faced might do. leave the channels empty to gain a bit on the foil to air surface.

·
Registered
2014 136” HR
4,843 Posts
Speaking of insulation, I learned some things today.