Ram Promaster Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 2016 Promaster and am showing 4.7 mpg on both the A and B trip settings. The instant economy reading seems to be correct and changes with the way that I drive, but the trip A and B settings just stay at 4.7. Needless to say, the instant readings are generally way above 4.7 (usually 14-16 range).

Resetting the trips doesn't seem to do any good. Anybody else have this issue or have thoughts on what to try?

Trying to avoid going back to the dealership if I don't have to.

Thx!

SN

·
Registered
100 Posts
If pushing the reset doesn't work, I'd say you need to take it to the dealer.

I can push the reset on mine and it zeroes out and then starts updating the averages again about every quarter mile.

·
Registered
121 Posts
Same thing happened to my 2016 diesel and I did just what 30 said. Disconnected for maybe 5 minutes and the mileage works fine now. As a bonus I didn't have to enter the radio unlock code and my saved presets stayed the same! I disconnected the negative battery terminal because it was the easiest. Odd that it chooses 4.7 mpg and it comes back to 4.7 after resetting.

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Thanks. I'll give that a try. It is possible that the problem started when I disconnected the battery to install the swivel seats. I noticed the behavior after the fact, but had just got the van, so am not sure if it was working before I did it.

Simple enough to give it a try, though. I'll let everyone know if it works out.

Thx,

SN

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Just to follow up in case anyone searches for this later. I disconnected the negative terminal of the battery, left it off for about 10 minutes, then hooked it back up. When I reconnected, everything still worked in the van and the mpg reading are now working.

Thanks everyone for their help!

SN

·
Registered
27 Posts