Ram Promaster Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
On May 23, my

I have a 2015 Ram Promaster Diesel 2500 with 72000 miles. Bought it in 2015 with 3500 miles as a certified used vehicle. Vehicle has been kept in excellent condition, well maintained, with oil changes per factory recommendations.

On May 23, while driving at highway speeds of 70 -75 MPH, without warning there was a sudden and loud thud in the engine compartment and the vehicle began slowing very rapidly, as if brakes were being applied. I immediately pulled over to the side of the road. As the vehicle slowed and came to a stop, there was significant smoke and steam rising from the engine compartment. I was concerned that the vehicle was on fire, but luckily it was not. It smelled of burnt radiator fluid and burnt clutch plates. No was was injured and there was no other damages except to the powertrain.

The vehicle was towed to the nearest dealership and the tow operator had difficulty loading and unloading the vehicle since the engine and transmission were completely locked up and the drivetrain wheels would not turn. The vehicle is currently being repaired under 100,000 mile powertrain warrantee. I have been told they have put in a completely new powertrain: new engine, new clutch, new automatic transmission cluster, etc.

However, the vehicle is still not repaired and it's been in the shop going on 3 months and counting. This seems WAY too long.

·
Premium Member
7,802 Posts
Please ask what failed to cause this. I could be many things. Yours is the first full failure of a diesel we have had posted.
Is this a second post on this incident?

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Please ask what failed to cause this. I could be many things. Yours is the first full failure of a diesel we have had posted.
Is this a second post on this incident?
The best answer I have heard on why it failed and exactly what failed is they don't know.