Ram Promaster Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just returned from my first trip into mountains with my 2016 TRAVATO (GAS /Promaster 3500). When going down steep hills in Drive (D without tow Haul on) the engine RPMs surged to 4500 RPM. Almost seemed to be engine breaking since speed stayed around 45 MPH. Riding the break seemed to ease the high RPM back to around 4000 RPM. I didn't notice down shifts but it must have. Is that normal? Asking because trans needed a rebuild at 1500 mile (yep.. that's 1-5-0-0 miles) so i'm not trusting that they did a great job on it. In all other conditions trans shifted fine.

I've been driving Fords and Hondas trucks for the last 16 years where 1.5-2.5 K RPMs are normal running. Not used to seeing higher RPMs like I see in the Promaster where it seems 2 -3000 is normal driving rpms.

·
Registered
473 Posts
Completely normal. I drive in the mountains in Colorado a lot and the FCA engineers have programmed an aggressive engine braking assist in the transmission. The high RPM's are a bit alarming if your not use to it but it will not harm your engine. Smaller engines are the future for fuel efficiency and emissions and they need to rev higher and work harder than the old large engines did but they are built for it. It took me a while to get use to the engine braking but after driving it a lot in the mountains I really appreciate it now.

·
Registered
167 Posts
I notice the same on my diesel. If I drive on CC on, about 45m/h set, trans downshift riding down-hill

·
Registered
2,098 Posts
....cut....

I've been driving Fords and Hondas trucks for the last 16 years where 1.5-2.5 K RPMs are normal running. Not used to seeing higher RPMs like I see in the Promaster where it seems 2 -3000 is normal driving rpms.
My experience with different Ford motorhomes with V10 gasoline engines is that engine braking can easily push the engine beyond 4,000 RPMs depending on driving conditions.