Ram Promaster Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
115 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I'm pretty new to electrical, and the learning curve is pretty steep. I've figured out a pretty solid wiring diagram, and now I'm moving on to understanding the smaller details of wire connections.

What is the best way to connect smaller gauge wire (22-18) coming from appliances (lights, fridge, pump, fan, etc. for example) to larger gauge duplex wire runs (14-10) coming from the switch panel/fuse box? Single crimp heat shrink butt splices? Double crimp butt splices with a piece of heat shrinking covering the connection? I would have to use step-down butt splices. Is there another mechanism besides step-down butt splices that will allow connection of differing gauge wire? Not sure the relative advantage of each, or whether another way of making these connections that is better.

Also, what's the best way to splice into a "run" of duplex wire? Say I wire a run along the ceiling for my 8 overhead lights. How do I splice into the +/- for each light and run more duplex wire along the ceiling to each light fixture?

Thanks!!

·
Premium Member
8,810 Posts
This is all low voltace DC with low current. Just twist them together. NO not really. You can terminate the heavy wire at the first bulb and run small gauge stranded wire to the others. I like solder and heat shrink tubes or those crimp fasteners where I might need to separate the wires later. Those are generically called SPADE terminals although technically only the spade shaped ones are. Female spade terminal is a misnomer, (not a MsNomer.)

·
Registered
'16 2500 159 HT Granite Window - OH(io)
337 Posts