Ram Promaster Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Today was a great day. This morning I called in sick to my office job so that my girlfriend and I could take a bus to a nearby city to pick up our brand new ProMaster 2500. I had of course test driven multiple vans previously, but I must say, driving my own van home today was an amazing feeling. I've been driving a small sedan for the last 7 years and I am amazed at how easy this van is to get around in. Simply loving it.

I'm wanting to get started on my build asap, and my first plan of attack is to get the subfloor in. My plan has been to apply Noico sound deadener between the floor ribs, a 1/2" layer of polyiso, and then a 1/2" (or perhaps 3/4") layer of plywood into which I plan on drilling pocket holes to install floor cabinets. The thing is - my van came with the composite wood floor installed. I do plan to remove it, but I am trying to decide if A) I should reinstall the composite floor over the polyiso in place of the 1/2" ply, or B) discard/sell the composite floor and stick with the original plan to use plywood. While I do like the idea of making use of the floor that came with my van, my concern with option A is that I likely cannot drill into the composite floor to install cabinets.

Any thoughts?

·
Premium Member
8,809 Posts
Skip the Noico. Just lay the polyiso on the ribs, then the plywood held by longer tie down bolts, then move on. Save the sound deadener for the wheel wells.

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Skip the Noico. Just lay the polyiso on the ribs, then the plywood held by longer tie down bolts, then move on. Save the sound deadener for the wheel wells.
I am planning to do the wheel wells also. Why skip the floor? Are you suggesting it will not have any effect as long as the wheel wells are sound deadened?

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #5