Ram Promaster Forum banner

1 - 20 of 60 Posts

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First, I have limited mechanical experience, so pardon my ignorance. And I was strictly looking at the gas powered PM, but have seen some deals on the EcoDiesel that have piqued my curiosity.

Can someone explain why a diesel is worth the extra dough? The mileage isn't that much better to justify a $4-5k price difference. Are they inherently more durable? Will they last an extra 100k miles?

Thanks

·
Premium Member
8,838 Posts
The mileage is a big deal. The gas PM gets about 17 mpg and the diesel gets about 26, 150% better. That is a difference that will pay for the diesel engine in about 150K miles (or much less) and then it is cheaper. In addition the diesel will outlast the gas engine 2 to 1 probably. This I4 3.0 liter engine is an industrial commercial engine built to last. The diesel also comes with a transmission that will probably last the life of the engine with a clutch change sometime in its life. Cost for service is comparable as the diesel has much longer service intervals.
The gas engine is a very popular and much used Chrysler product with just a few issues, an update will appear in a year or so. It should have a normal life in this van and the transmission should be the same but about 250 K miles or so on the average. It is cheaper up front.
Diesels have recently come under new emissions restrictions and meeting them has been hard for many manufacturers. Sprinters have had a very difficult time in particular, you will hear from former owners who's bad experience has made them diesel haters. FCA has adapted better I believe and very few emissions issues have cropped up in the last year and a half. For the first 8 months or so FCA had a proportion of unresolved or lengthly to resolve issues, cured in the most part by software updates.