Ram Promaster Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 2016 RAM 3500 Promaster where the fuel pump relay occasionally gives out.
Sometimes while driving. Which is always unexpected and can be dangerous.
Usually, I pull over and wiggle it, or re-set it, or transfer one of the similar relays from the power distribution box to it's slot. This usually works, but is super annoying. My mechanic actually put in a whole new power distribution box, so I have the old one in the truck with all the fuses and other relays as spares. But it's interesting that this has happend with both PDB boxes. The old and the new. In fact, he told me that the one he replaced was stamped as a 2018 part, which indicated it had been replaced before, as the truck is a 2016. I've been to forums, but not seen this reported as a big time problem for the Promaster series. Anyway, I was wondering if you anyone has created a fuel pump relay by-pass for this Ram model. Thank you. Any light anyone can shed on this would be apppreciated.

·
Premium Member
2018 136 HR Ont.
1,735 Posts
...fuel pump relay by-pass for this Ram model. Thank you. Any light anyone can shed on this would be apppreciated.
I've rigged up a few switches to by pass pump relays on other vehicles, basically a switch, two wires with spades plugged into the PDB.

If I was you I'd be looking at other components than the relay and box. You might have a ground or power connection issue between the relay/chassis and the pump. Maybe the pump is defective?

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I've rigged up a few switches to by pass pump relays on other vehicles, basically a switch, two wires with spades plugged into the PDB.

If I was you I'd be looking at other components than the relay and box. You might have a ground or power connection issue between the relay/chassis and the pump. Maybe the pump is defective?