Ram Promaster Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Howdy folks - I am no electrician, but I've been doing a ton of research on wiring my new 2500 Window Van for my DIY camper buildout and I would appreciate the combined knowledge of the forum.

Questions:
  • Have I missed anything?
  • Have I done something that is going to burn up my van?
  • Is anything going to electrocute me?
  • Did you do something different and/or are you happy with your setup?
  • Anything else?

Here is the wiring diagram I have pulled together - Thanks in advance for your input:
Potential Wiring Diagram by Spencer Williams, on Flickr
PS: I'm not an electrician - if you choose to use this diagram yourself, you do so at your own risk.

·
Super Moderator
10,659 Posts
It's way to small for me to even read so I can't comment. Can you post a higher resolution image?

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Added PDF

I added a larger version and you should be able to download it from flickr at over 2800px wide.

https://flic.kr/p/ySSwr4

I also attached a PDF version here as well.

Attachments

·
Registered
91 Posts
I was reading in another thread/forum about the need for a disconnect (on/off) switch right after the solar panels before the controller. It seems you need a way to turn off any input from them if and when you need to remove the house battery. Has to do with spikes.

Here's a PDF from AMSolar. You can see the switch on the left.

http://www.amsolar.com/shop/wpimages/5srs-25mppt6pro.v15.06.10.pdf

·
Super Moderator
10,659 Posts
It looks as if he has a 30 a fuse that could serve the same purpose. I put both a fuse and a switch between my panels and the controller, much easier and cleaner way to do it.

·
Registered
763 Posts
Nice walk through an RV scheme - a quick study reveals..