Ram Promaster Forum banner

1 - 20 of 64 Posts

·
Premium Member
7,217 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Definition of faux
not real or genuine: such as
a : made to look like something else that is usually more valuable : IMITATION, FAKE faux leather/fura string of faux pearls… faux is the French word for fake, but it's a very chic fake. Faux marble, for example, is found in the best of homes.— Sylvia Sachs

I have been a builder, mechanic, teacher, mason, DIY canoe maker, wilderness traveler, and a bit more. I am like most of you who are on here building a campervan. We may be at different places in our path through life but I hope we share more than we differ. I am me. I don’t try to be something else. I want the things I make to be as authentic as I am. I am confused about products, materials, and processes that seem to be one thing and in fact are something else.
Some of those things exist for their beauty aided by modern technology. Strip Cedar canoes are an example. They are Faux in the sense they look like a thin layer of wood but in fact are a composite of fiberglass, resin encasing wood. The wood shows but the boat is really something else.

RD and family in the North Maine woods, circa 1982, my first canoe build.

We live in a world of Faux materials. IKEA not many years ago, made almost all their products from birch woods and veneers. Veneers are Faux but have come to be accepted as quality materials. Clearly Faux and quality are different things.
Faux does not mean modern as Formica and Linoleum have been around for several generations and are faux, replacing materials like ceramic tiles, stone, and Terrazzo itself a faux stone floor.
Faux gets a bad name when it is used badly to poorly represent a product of quality and is in truth junk. Usually anyone can see the difference. In deciding on what to use picking something that may be seen to do that is reflective of the quality of the whole product despite being well done in itself.