·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1

Attachments

·
Registered
99 Posts
I have no experience with that particular model, but 2000-3000 watts is quite a draw on just 2 batteries. It might work ok for a quick hand washing, but I would not expect to be able to get gallons of hot water from it.

They do make DC coils for heating water, so you could make a similar setup fairly easily and eliminate the need to go through your inverter.

·
Registered
428 Posts
Assuming 2500 watt usage of 12 volts means that the battery assembly must put out around 200 amps. This is excessive for the two batteries and they will be destroyed quickly. I use an Isotherm or Isotemp 4-gallon tank type heater with a 750 watt, 115 volt element supplied by a 1000 watt inverter.
draw on the battery is 80 amps which is doable from a 230 amp/hour size 8-D AGM battery. I manage the heating by manual switch. Starting with semi-warm water left in the tank it usually only takes around 25 to 30 minutes to satisfy the thermostat. This draws about 40 amp hours out of the battery which has a "usable" capacity of over 100 amp/hours to discharge to 12.2 volts, the recommended level to begin recharge for long battery life.

·
Premium Member
8,828 Posts