Ram Promaster Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi there,

I have zero electrical experience other than switching out a couple of light switches in the house. So when I say an electrical noob, I mean it. :)

We are starting our van build with the very basics, eventually adding in solar but not right now. Eventual needs for electrical would be for lights and a fridge, and that's about it.

We want to get our Fantastic Fan installed now, and when searching I find some information here, but a lot of it is still far over my head. It sounds like wiring it to the main battery isn't good practice. We do have a "Battery Doctor" that a friend gave us, which I think is the right tool to get us started.... but I still don't really understand the setup. I think that the battery doctor is something to go in between the main battery and an aux battery?? If that's the case, do you have any aux batteries to recommend for our current purposes?

I have read that it is very easy to get the fan wired, but I need extremely simple, step by step instructions because I don't have any electrical foundation. Does anyone have a thread or website link to help me out? Or would you be willing to help here by listing out the steps and putting up with my super basic questions?

I'd greatly appreciate it if so.

Thanks!

·
Super Moderator
8,310 Posts
I would suggest you forget the FantasticFan and get the MaxxFan instead. It’s is a lot higher quality and quieter from what I’ve read. If you connect your house battery to your alternator (+ terminal on both batteries actually) and use a battery disconnect switch/relay there is no need to complicate it more by using a a Battery Doctor for your uses. Check out RD’s simple picture diagram. This is as basic as it goes. I’m sure RD will be happy to provide further help and info as soon as he logs back on - listen to his advice and you will not go wrong!

·
Premium Member
8,558 Posts