Ram Promaster Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First conversion is going well. Time for ELECTRICITY! I am a novice so I welcome any feedback on my design. I have a simple system because I'm going to use propane for most heavy power things (cooking, fridge, heat, water heater). My biggest questions are... is my wire sizing ok? do i need a battery kill switch on the power input side (solar, alternator, shore)?

Thank you. This forum has been such a great reference, you all have so much knowledge.

·
Registered
221 Posts
  • Starter battery should be fused.
  • Solar could be fused.
  • Future inverter should be fused.
  • Could be 10awg to solar, maybe even 12.
  • DC loads after panel could likely be 16, maybe 18 but I wouldn't actually go smaller than 14awg to save future headaches. The smaller stuff gets fragile.
  • Depending on length of runs, some of the other 8awg may want to be larger. 8awg is minimum for 40a

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thank you. When you say starter battery and solar should/could be fused, I'm guessing you mean before the charge controller?

I have a big roll of marine grade 12awg, as I understand it will not hurt anything to use that to all my dc loads?

I will switch most of those 8awg to 6.

• Starter battery should be fused.
  • Solar could be fused.
  • Future inverter should be fused.
  • Could be 10awg to solar, maybe even 12.
  • DC loads after panel could likely be 16, maybe 18 but I wouldn't actually go smaller than 14awg to save future headaches. The smaller stuff gets fragile.
  • Depending on length of runs, some of the other 8awg may want to be larger. 8awg is minimum for 40a

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
No one (in their right mind) uses a propane fridge these days. Go with native 12v and do it correctly.