Ram Promaster Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Strongly considering a used 2014 diesel 2500 with 28k miles on it.
Carfax report shows the following services done recently:

Body computer/module reprogrammed

after five months:
Engine/powertrain computer/module reprogrammed

then same thing again a month later.

Are these reprogrammings a relatively common thing for new models like the PM, or a sign of a potentially problematic individual vehicle?

The services were done at a Ram dealer, but the van is now being sold at a Toyota lot. Have all you diesel owners gone through at least one reprogramming?

Not only am I new to diesels, I'm new to new cars! :D

·
Registered
756 Posts
The body computer module you noticed updated Chrysler U-connect systems to protect them from 3rd party intrusions... http://www.driveuconnect.com/software-update/ even allowed owners to reflash their own systems; Engine systems etc. updates have not been allowed out to the general public. My van qualified for Service Bulletin ID: 08-074-15 Release Date: 2015-06-12...

Reprogramming... usually a transparent and inert event. The engineers & software people keep discovering tiny incremental changes claimed to improve product reliability, life expectancy and/or addresses safety or environmental concerns so when these in-service vehicles are available their software frameworks are updated. Available meaning in a service bay or on a dealers lot for some other service, long enough for a technician to overwrite the prior software. There are enough timing events, pressures and voltage signals involved it's almost inevitable.