Ram Promaster Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello! I have a 2014 ProMaster 2500. The Electronic Throttle Control warning light (red “lightning bolt” in parentheses, blinking) has been coming on and off for about a year. Last month I drove 1500 miles and it never came on, but this month it comes on every time I start driving, after a few minutes. Acceleration becomes irregular / weak. Two different DTC scanners show the same trouble code, P2122 (Accelerator pedal position sensor 1 circuit low). I replaced the pedal (which has these sensors built in it), with no result. An electrician tested all voltages from the pedal to the computer, and he also tested the wire harness and said it was fine. After that, he gave up and said he couldn’t find what triggers the code. (Of course he cleared the codes several times, after doing his tests and after I test-drove the van.) He suggests having the van's computer reprogrammed / software updated by a dealer. Before I go to the dealer, who will start with the same tests but will charge me much more, I thought I’d ask here - did anyone have this issue, and, if you finally could resolve it, what caused the problem? Thank you in advance for your feedback.

·
Premium Member
2016 3500 ext-ht
423 Posts

Theory of Operation

Accelerator Pedal Position (APP) Sensor applications today use Induction/Hall Sensors (non-contact).