Ram Promaster Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,
I just joined the forum.
I have just spent an hour reading the various posts going back in 2014. Interestingly the debate over insulation and condensation hasn't changed.
Most of you are seasoned builders or have already done many van builds.
I live in California, I just bought a 2019 Promaster. I am ready to start but the old insulation and condensation is holding me up. I am less worried about insulating than I am about causing a condensation problem....
I do not think that I will be traveling to cold areas. I am more interested in the beach and lakes, so mostly heat. My plan is to use a sound deadener followed by Thinsulate and close my walls (tongue-and-groove). Same thing on the ceiling.
I am a painting contractor and I was wondering with I should consider painting the interior cargo with a paint that would prevent condensation. is this a waste of time. After all, condensation is expected to take place, I just don't want to prevent the drying or safe run off of water.
Also, I read in the thread about Condensation and Insulation that Hein's Thinsulate (do not know who Hein is ) is different than the Amazon Thinsulate. Please advise, I do not want to buy the wrong one.
Thank you!

·
Registered
2018 3500 EXT
2,439 Posts
Hi,
I just joined the forum.
I have just spent an hour reading the various posts going back in 2014. Interestingly the debate over insulation and condensation hasn't changed.
Most of you are seasoned builders or have already done many van builds.
I live in California, I just bought a 2019 Promaster. I am ready to start but the old insulation and condensation is holding me up. I am less worried about insulating than I am about causing a condensation problem....